Next Release

Various Artists
"Africa Airways Six (Mile High Funk 1974 - 1981)"

For this sixth journey we're taking you above 5280 feet and laying on the funk.

Once more we're ready to take flight on Africa Airways, for this sixth journey we're taking you above 5280 feet and laying on the funk.
The flight opens with the punchy horns, afro rhythms & groovy bass of Eko Roosevelt's "Ndolo Embe Mulema". Keeping the tempo high we usher in fellow Cameroonians JM Tim & Foty for another punch of brass with the funky "More And More (Ye-Male)". We stay in Cameroon with Ngalle Jojo, here he lays down another funktastic bass heavy stomper with "Ngigna Loko". Jude Bondeze hails from Bangui, Central African Republic and is probably best known for his more traditional Tene Sango album... but his debut 1981 release saw him in a very funky mood indeed! Next up, Nigerian Vicky Edimo gets his thumb out and lays down some glorious slabs of deep funk... along with a rather splendid bass solo! JK Mandengue played bass off & on for the British Afrobeat band "Osibisa", playing on the uber funky "Super Fly TNT" Motion Picture Soundtrack album.. Certainly putting him on a path to the Wahahwah'tastic "Kosa Mba" taken from his 1979 self-titled album. Slow percussive classic raw street funk from Nigeria's Akwassa, who's line up is the same as "Heads Funk Band", are up next. Another outing for Vicky Edimo on this 1978 beauty from Mike Kounou. Also on guitar duties for Mike Kounou is Francois Amadou Corea, who's funky chops can be heard on "Ngigna Loko" & "Njonjo Mukambe". Hi-Octane funk from Airto Fogo, percussion, rhodes & horns aplenty on this 1974 instrumental cut "Black Soul". As we prepare to start our decent Francois Misse Ngoh drops in some filth with this 1980 bass face monster "Njonjo Mukambe"... head nodding isn't essential, but it's best to brace yourself for impact.
Your next Africa Airways departure will be ready for boarding soon, so keep your passports at the ready!

01 - Eko - Ndolo Embe Mulema (1979)
Written, arranged and Orchestra Direction by Eko Roosevelt.
Published by Dharma Songs.
02 - J.M. Tim & Foty - More And More (Ye-Male)(1978)
Written by Kembiwo Fotie.
Published by Esperance Call Me.
03 - Ngalle Jojo - Ngigna Loko (1978)
Written by Ngalle Jojo.
Published by Dharma Songs
04 - Jude Bondeze - Ndomo (1981)
Written by Jude Bondeze.
Arranged by Alan Shelly.
Published by Dharma Songs
05 - Vicky Edimo - You (edit) (1981)
Written by Vicky Edimo. Produced by Louise Edimo.
Published by Dharma Songs.
06 - JK Mandengue - Kosa Mba (1979)
Written by J.K. Mandengue.
Produced by Slim Pezin.
Published by Copyright Control
07 - Akwassa - Be Yourself (And Don't Let Nobody) (1975)
Written by Akwassa.
Published by Dharma Songs
P 1975 Afrodisia
08 - Mike Kounou - My Native Land (1978)
Written by Mike Kounou.
Produced by J.C. Ako.
Executive-Producer Alan Shelly.
Published by Dharma Songs
09 - Airto Fogo - Black Soul (1974)
Written by Airto Fogo.
Published by Dharma Songs
10 - Francois Misse Ngoh - Njonjo Mukambe (1980)
Written by F. Misse Ngoh.
Published by Dharma Songs
Audio Restoration By Timmy @ Tiger Bright Studios (
Mastered By Eugene @ Cromon Tor.
Artwork By Rich Elson.
Thanks To Keith Slater, Vicky Edimo, Maboul Basmati, Eko, & Jo Bisso.
(P) 2020 Africa Seven

1. Eko - Ndolo Embe Mulema Buy Track ( 0.94)
2. J. M. Tim And Foty - More And More (Ye-Male) Buy Track ( 0.94)
3. Ngalle Jojo - Ngigna Loko Buy Track ( 0.94)
4. Jude Bondeze - Ndomo Buy Track ( 0.94)
5. Vicky Edimo - You Buy Track ( 0.94)
6. JK Mandengue - Kosa Mba Buy Track ( 0.94)
7. Akwassa - Be Yourself (And Don't Let Nobody) Buy Track ( 0.94)
8. Mike Kounou - My Native Land Buy Track ( 0.94)
9. Airto Fogo - Black Soul Buy Track ( 0.94)
10. Francois Misse Ngoh - Njonjo Mukambe Buy Track ( 0.94)
Buy All Tracks ( 7.05)

Buy Physical LP (24.99)